Author Topic: What language?  (Read 2643 times)

Rob

• New improved. Now with added something...
  • Jackass In Charge
  • Approaching 60 from the wrong damn direction...
What language?
« on: March 12, 2011, 10:17:08 AM »
Background: We have a database that's used by our customers to monitor stuff, and by our employees to track stuff (goods in/out, that kind of thing).

At the moment they pretty much manipulate the database directly, but that is definitely not satisfactory (I've inherited this from someone else).

I've finally realised that it's time to bite the bullet and write a front end for it. The front end needs to be web-based, and I want some flashy stuff like drag and drop capability.

Problem: I'm an embedded programmer. I know some assembler and C. I know VB6 fairly well and VB.net a bit. I have no experience of web development, and no real knowledge of the current state of the art. I can handle the back end stuff - it's just firing off XML to the database API, but I have no idea what (or how) to code the front end stuff in.

Over to you guys :).

Mike

• Jackass In Charge
  • Ex Asshole - a better and more caring person.
Re: What language?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2011, 10:35:42 AM »
Do you feel like starting a holy war?

Ok some important points about web development:
  • The http protocol is stateless.  This is probably the biggest pain in the ass of web programming as a lot of things are done to get around it.
  • You've got two different sides to program.  Server side, where you'll do the database stuff and decide what pages to serve.  And client side, where you can manipulate the data that the client sends to server.
  • Client side there isn't a lot of choice:  HTML, CSS, and JS.  Structure, Look, and Manipulation.
  • Server side there are a ton of choices.  More about this later
  • Security is a bitch of a problem.