Technical & Scientific > Programming

Web Dev Hourly Rate?

(1/4) > >>

micah:
So I've been programming professionally for 12 years now, the last 6 of which were for agencies that charge clients $150/hr for my time.

When I first started doing freelance work, 10 or more years ago, I was charging $35/hr.   I haven't done much of anything on the side over the past 5 years, save for a couple projects where I just charged a flat fee of a few hundred bucks.  I want my hourly rate to be $75/hr.  I think thats reasonable for my skill level and comparable to what some of my colleagues charge to do freelance.

The problem is I've never been able to get that rate.  I've recently had several solid leads from Craigslist that all fell through (I'm currently 0 for 4) but even when they seem'd like they were going to work out, the negotiated price I ended up with was more in the $35 to $50 range.  No one I can attract wants to pay close to $75.

The other day I responded to a craigslist ad, a guy said he'd pay $50 for what he perceived as "a couple hours of work."  He e-mailed me his problem, including the error he was getting. Being the nice guy I am, I wrote him back with a quick solution to fix it himself.  He wrote me today to say thanks for the free advice and also said, "I am always in need of good programmers for projects that I undertake. What is your typical hourly rate?"

So what do I tell him?  On the one hand, I want to say $75/hr.  But I know thats going to sound unreasonable to someone who just wants a cheap, on-call freelancer.  I'm willing to take much less, after all, anything above minimum wage beats having to go out and get a second job at burger king, but I don't want to undervalue myself or rip myself off.

What do you think?  If you freelance, what do you charge?

Perspective:
Here's my shot at trying to say the expectation while still bringing in the leads from him.