Author Topic: Any recommendations for a good hosting company?  (Read 3988 times)

micah

• A real person, on the Internet.
  • Ass Wipe
  • Truth cannot contradict truth.
    • micahj.com
Any recommendations for a good hosting company?
« on: February 19, 2008, 10:18:11 AM »
This may have been brought up here before but I didn't see it with a simple search.

My personal site is up for renewal and, honestly, I’m not really happy with the company I’ve been using for the last 7 years.

They’ve up’d their prices again, reduced their affiliate program’s payout by 95% and recently, when I submitted a simple support ticket request, it took 23 hours to get a response.

I am currently hosting on a “Virtual Dedicated Server” plan, which is still just a shared server but the accounts on it are “partitioned” and you get root access; can configure apache and php; and have your own mysql server (albeit all a little restricted)

As much as I like that feature, I realize I really don’t need a VDS/VPS for my personal site (and the few clients I host on it) and could probably switch to a regular old virtual setup, providing if I can cut costs and still get:
A dedicated IP Address,
ability to host at least 5 domains,
POP3/SMTP,
PHP 5 and MySQL

Any reliable and affordable recommendations?
"I possess a device, in my pocket, that is capable of accessing the entirety of information known to man.  I use it to look at pictures of cats and get in arguments with strangers."

ober

• Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Re: Any recommendations for a good hosting company?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2008, 10:34:30 AM »
www.ace-host.net

That's who I host through (this site is sitting on it right now).  I'm basically on a shared plan, but I think they've done away with that now.  You might have to ask.  I have never found better support or options.

hans

• Guitar Addict
  • Jackass In Charge
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2008, 11:30:19 PM »