EntropySink

Technical & Scientific => Programming => Topic started by: Steve on July 03, 2008, 10:15:37 PM

Title: using float with forms ::shiver::
Post by: Steve on July 03, 2008, 10:15:37 PM
Eh.....

I'm doing a simple project for a friend of mine updating his website. The original designer created a login page for his customers but never implemented it. The db and everything is there they just never put the form in.

Well apparently the website is built using a shit load of gay overlays with images. He wants to use the "member login" box thats already there, which is just a image that says "member login" at the top, no form.

Is there a better way to put a form over this image then to use floats? I mean i can create the username and password box and use the css to position them over the image where i want, but god that is so half assed. Floating isnt even designed for form elements and its a cross-browser nightmare....
Title: Re: using float with forms ::shiver::
Post by: Mike on July 03, 2008, 10:28:20 PM
Try doing absolute positioning.  IIRC there might be some cross browser issues with it but I don't think it was anything too difficult.
Title: Re: using float with forms ::shiver::
Post by: Steve on July 03, 2008, 10:37:15 PM
That may work since the site is fixed width...

let me toy with that see how it looks.
Title: Re: using float with forms ::shiver::
Post by: Steve on July 03, 2008, 10:54:22 PM
I whipped this up quick, and it wont even display, which i find odd. Even moving around position it never shows up. Yet in another test file i just made, it came right up. It's done the same as the other elements in the file as well.

Code: [Select]
<input type="text" id="Editbox1" style="position:absolute; left:571px; top:445px; width:110px; background-color:#FBFAF7; font-family:Arial; font-size:12px; z-index:4" size="11" name="Editbox1" maxlength="20">
<input type="text" id="Editbox2" style="position:absolute; left:569px; top:488px; width:110px; background-color:#FBFAF7; font-family:Arial New; font-size:12px; z-index:5" size="11" name="Editbox2" value="" maxlength="20">

And its not Dreamweaver, i tried it in notepad and coffeecup as well
Title: Re: using float with forms ::shiver::
Post by: Steve on July 04, 2008, 12:30:06 AM
Got it, some reason opera wasnt freshing the new previews.