Author Topic: Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000  (Read 4067 times)

incognito

  • In the Abis
  • Jackass IV
  • Posts: 544
  • Karma: +15/-20
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« on: December 17, 2005, 06:49:09 PM »
Has anyone else had problems with this? I am about to give up. I cannot get them to work. I get something about not being able to stablish a socket connection. SP2 it's proving to be a big headache. Note this is when connecting thru JDBC.

Ken Fitlike

  • Jackass V
  • Posts: 1568
  • Karma: +25/-22
  • Ebeneezer McScrooge
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2005, 07:15:08 PM »
Moved to software.
And what rough beast, its hour come round at last,
Slouches towards Bethlehem to be born?.

ober

  • Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • Posts: 14310
  • Karma: +73/-790
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2005, 08:13:56 PM »
Sorry, can't help you... I've only run SQL 2K on Windows 2K.

hans

  • Guitar Addict
  • Jackass In Charge
  • Posts: 3523
  • Karma: +46/-18
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2005, 09:19:04 PM »
Make sure you have SQL authentication enabled. Sometimes people install with NT only.
Also make sure the correct network protocols are enabled.

Those are the first things to check.
This signature intentionally left blank.

incognito

  • In the Abis
  • Jackass IV
  • Posts: 544
  • Karma: +15/-20
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2005, 01:03:40 PM »
I have SQL authentication and have tcp/ip enabled ( i even had named pipes enabled, whatever that means), it's the same setup i have on my desktop which is running XP professional without this stupid service pack. I can't get anything done now because of this SP2.

hans

  • Guitar Addict
  • Jackass In Charge
  • Posts: 3523
  • Karma: +46/-18
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2005, 01:36:00 PM »
Code?
This signature intentionally left blank.

incognito

  • In the Abis
  • Jackass IV
  • Posts: 544
  • Karma: +15/-20
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2005, 02:30:26 PM »
it's not a code issue, because this same code is working on my desktop, but here it is anyhow

Code: [Select]



public void OpenConnection(){
try {
Class.forName("com.microsoft.jdbc.sqlserver.SQLServerDriver");
     con = java.sql.DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:microsoft:sqlserver://localhost:1433;databaseName=phone_dir;selectMethod=cursor","sa", "");

     if(!con.isClosed())
       System.out.println("Connected to MySql succesfully");

   } catch(Exception e) {
     System.err.println("Cannot Connect Exception: " + e.getMessage());
     e.printStackTrace();
   }
}



It's a documented problem between SQL 2000 and SP2, but none of Microsofts' fixes are really helping me.

http://www.windowsitpro.com/Articles/Index.cfm?ArticleID=43777&DisplayTab=Article


You can see from these links that M$ knows about these issues, but none of their solutions really work.

hans

  • Guitar Addict
  • Jackass In Charge
  • Posts: 3523
  • Karma: +46/-18
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2005, 02:41:24 PM »
Try using the JTDS driver maybe. It's better than the M$ one anyways. I use it for all of my development with SQL Server.

http://jtds.sourceforge.net/

Have you tried uninstalling SQL Server 2K and using the 2005 Express?
This signature intentionally left blank.

incognito

  • In the Abis
  • Jackass IV
  • Posts: 544
  • Karma: +15/-20
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2005, 02:50:59 PM »
Quote from: tgm
Try using the JTDS driver maybe. It's better than the M$ one anyways. I use it for all of my development with SQL Server.

http://jtds.sourceforge.net/

Have you tried uninstalling SQL Server 2K and using the 2005 Express?



I dont' have that other version, i've thought about doing that. Let me ::clears throat:: go out and "buy" that other version.

hans

  • Guitar Addict
  • Jackass In Charge
  • Posts: 3523
  • Karma: +46/-18
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« Reply #9 on: December 18, 2005, 03:02:15 PM »
Mmmm. I just tried it on my XP Pro SP2 machine (with 2005 express, which it free by the way). It didn't work. Interesting. I'm going to have to look into this a bit more. I've got the MDSE version running on an XP machine where I'm working but I'm not sure if it has SP2 installed. I'll do some more testing and get back to you.
This signature intentionally left blank.

incognito

  • In the Abis
  • Jackass IV
  • Posts: 544
  • Karma: +15/-20
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« Reply #10 on: December 18, 2005, 03:21:30 PM »
I am thinking about downloading sql server 2000 sp4, is it alright to jump to sp4 if i haven't installed any of the previous service packs?

hans

  • Guitar Addict
  • Jackass In Charge
  • Posts: 3523
  • Karma: +46/-18
Windows Home SP2 and SQL 2000
« Reply #11 on: December 19, 2005, 09:26:45 AM »
Jumping to SP4 would be fine. I just checked the machine I'm using at work and it's SP2. You just need to do those firewall things from the articles and everything should work just fine.
This signature intentionally left blank.