Author Topic: Design Decisons  (Read 3769 times)

webwhy

• Jackass IV
Design Decisons
« on: December 30, 2005, 06:55:18 PM »
I'm working on a side project with a couple of friends of mine.  Most of the project will be built in Java/J2EE using the Spring Framework and Hibernate.  While I primarly work with php and lately ruby in my professional life, I have some limited experience with Spring and hibernate.  Nevertheless I'm far from an expert.

Basically this application will be exposed to other web apps as a service with a REST based api.  Basically commands are issued by communicating over known web endpoints.

Here's the debate:

My idea is to have all the commands that are received through the web funnel into a queue, and have the command processor threads consuming from the queue.  I want to use a free JMS implementation, ActiveMQ, for the queue.  It seems possible to implement asynchronous messaging without an EJB container, and JMS will  ensure that the commands will reach their intended targets.    

Since I'm not familar with java (i was out voted.  i wanted to do the project in ruby), I not sure of the approach.  While it seems that it will work, it's relatively complex.  Is it overkill?  Can anyone think of a simplier way to create a threadsafe queue that will garantee commands in the queue are not lost in the event of a service interruption.  If a "simpler" RDBMS based solution was chosen, how would you implement the consumers, would thread and transaction safety become just as complex?

Perspective

• badfish
  • Jackass In Charge
    • http://jeff.bagu.org
Design Decisons
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2006, 01:08:54 PM »
>Most of the project will be built in Java/J2EE
> It seems possible to implement asynchronous messaging without an EJB container