Author Topic: College admissions essay...  (Read 4281 times)

Stephen

• Jackass IV
College admissions essay...
« on: October 19, 2006, 04:34:04 PM »
Prompt: "What sets you apart from other applicants, based on unique educational or life experiences, personal or family circumstances, obstacles overcome and/or achievements?" (300 words or less).

My requests: suggestions on things to change, suggestions on what to omit to bring it down from 324 words.

Over the past few years, I have come to realize that everybody plays the guitar. I feel as though my ability to confidently say that I play the guitar is in no way special. However, as I have pondered this, something has become clear: I am different. I do not just play the guitar. I lift spirits, I calm souls, I break and piece together the hearts of lovers and youth. I am a Musician, an Artist, a Creator. I am a guitarist.
   I first picked up a guitar two years ago, attracted by its beautiful figure. As I began to teach myself the fundamentals and intricacies of such a wondrous creation, I felt, to my surprise, a connection to neither the instrument nor its product; it was a burden to press down those biting strings –I could hear cruel laughter behind each ugly, snarling chord. Yet I continued to play, hoping that the passion I longed for would one day find me, capture me.