Author Topic: Good Ol' Fantasy Novels are hard to come by  (Read 9117 times)

obsidian

• Jackass I
    • http://garth.thewaytech.com
Good Ol' Fantasy Novels are hard to come by
« on: May 19, 2005, 10:53:13 AM »
well, i'm a noob here, but i thought i'd start out with a thread i knew a little somethin' about. i appreciate a good novel, and i've found i have an innate desire to read good ol' fantasy novels (ie LOTR by Tolkien). in my search i have happened upon quite a few decent ones... and of course, so losers, too. i thought maybe i could list ones i know of, and hopefully someone can recommend some others.  there are two keys to my enjoyment of these novels: first, they must have a good story line, but they also must be at least fairly well written... here's a list of ones i've enjoyed (not in any particular order)

Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time series (i think there are 10 now)
Terry Goodkind's The Sword of Truth series (i think that one's got 7)
George R R Martin Game of Thrones (and the 2 sequels)
Stephen King The Dark Tower series

those are just a few of the best i've found... if you can recommend others, i'd be more than willing to try them out!

thanks

drakkenkorin

• Jackass VI
    • http://www.google.com
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2005, 11:12:46 AM »
personlly, i don't like king, i always loose interest by the 3rd chapter.

my favs:
David Eddings's The Belgariad: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit, Castle of Wizardy, and Enchanters' End Game

Raymond Feist's Riftwar Saga: Magician: Apprentice, Magician: Master, Silverthorn, A Darkness at Sethanon

I almost forgot Janny Wurtz and Feist's Riftware - The world on the other side series: Daughter of the Empire, Servant of the Empire, Mistress of the Empire.  This series takes place at the same time (pretty much) as the Riftwar Saga, but on the "other side."

keep in mind: IMO, others may disagree.

for Feist's work you can look here.  for Eddings's work you can look here.