Author Topic: Python  (Read 6211 times)

-KEN-

• Some Other Mofo
  • Jackass In Charge
Python
« on: April 11, 2008, 12:26:33 AM »
Anyone ever use it? I'm just starting to learn it, and so far, I really like it. Right now the language sort've reminds me of a more OOP Perl (which I have to admit, I love). Perl was cool because syntactically, it's similar enough to weakly-typed C where I was more-or-less comfortable writing whatever and checking the syntax and functions as I went, and it let me focus more on getting stuff done than the nitty-gritty memory and variable details (you can decide whether that's a good or bad thing).

Python's a bit different, but still seems like it could feel like home one day. There seems to be a decent amount of hype around it lately (at least in the journalism industry, if you've ever heard of Django), although I know it's not exactly a new language.

My only gripe so far is that, instead of curly brackets indicating scope, a la "myfunction() { /*stuff*/ }", it uses indenting, meaning I'd have to write that short function/if statement/loop as

def myfunction():
    #stuff
    #more stuff
    if blah:
        #more stuff

Which I guess is nice for readability, but did make me aware of my VIM settings using large tabstops instead of individual spaces (which I've now fixed). And plus, I think there's something to be said for an insane single line of code.

In any case, your guys' thoughts?

-KEN-

• Some Other Mofo
  • Jackass In Charge
Re: Python
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2008, 12:32:05 AM »
Oh, and the __blah__() syntax of certain special functions kills me. Especially when you're extending to __blah____subblah() at points -- I can't remember where I saw that, somewhere in Django, and it made me very sad. I think it's because you can't do __blah__.subblah() in whatever case that is, but don't quote me on that, because I'm probably very wrong.

-KEN-

• Some Other Mofo
  • Jackass In Charge
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2008, 01:35:47 AM »