Author Topic: Help me understand Web Sockets  (Read 3358 times)

micah

• A real person, on the Internet.
  • Ass Wipe
  • Truth cannot contradict truth.
    • micahj.com
Help me understand Web Sockets
« on: July 31, 2014, 10:08:58 AM »
Last year I started playing around with firebase to replace an app I built that used ajax polling for syncing real-time data.  Apparently web sockets are awesome.

But being ingrained in the world of HTTP, I don't think I've wrapped my head completely around it.  I guess my two questions relate to

1) Bandwidth.  If I have a socket open for 10 minutes straight but just push some JSON data back and forth a few times when it changes, am I using any more/less/same bandwidth then if I polled the server for new information every few seconds?

2) Connection Time.  Can you remain connected for hours on end? Indefinitely? (I mean, other then losing your ISP data connection.)  Could you theoretically write an app that assumes the users are connected 24/7?
"I possess a device, in my pocket, that is capable of accessing the entirety of information known to man.  I use it to look at pictures of cats and get in arguments with strangers."

Mike

• Jackass In Charge
  • Ex Asshole - a better and more caring person.
Re: Help me understand Web Sockets
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2014, 10:30:28 AM »
So first question, have you ever done normal socket programming?  Not really needed but it helps with understanding websockets.

To your question:

1) When the connection is open there will occasionally be ping/pong traffic.  The packet is tiny (like a few bytes) and doesn't happen that frequently.  Compare that against a full HTTP request and the traffic is going to be much smaller.