Author Topic: teach me .NET  (Read 5029 times)

micah

• A real person, on the Internet.
  • Ass Wipe
  • Truth cannot contradict truth.
    • micahj.com
teach me .NET
« on: November 29, 2012, 04:40:52 PM »
so despite the fact that the internet run on LAMP and most major sites, including facebook, are PHP based, it would seem that every major insurance company in Connecticut wants .NET developers.  How hard could it be?  It looks like C# is the closest acceptable .NET language to PHP so that should be a relatively painless transition.  After that it seems its just a matter of learning the framework and maybe learning a new IDE like visual studio.

any recommendations on where to start?   Also, do you think a strong web app background rooted in PHP but only self-taught experience in .NET would still qualify me for the mid to senior level positions I'm looking for? 
"I possess a device, in my pocket, that is capable of accessing the entirety of information known to man.  I use it to look at pictures of cats and get in arguments with strangers."

ober

• Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Re: teach me .NET
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2012, 10:59:00 PM »
Fuck .NET.  That is all.

You want to program in Microsoft's box?  Be my guest.  As a PHP dev, you're going to be frustrated, I can guarantee you that.

micah

• A real person, on the Internet.
  • Ass Wipe
  • Truth cannot contradict truth.
    • micahj.com
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2017, 01:07:41 AM »
so to bump this thread from 5 years ago...

I'm on a project at work that requires me to work in .NET