Author Topic: Ruby on Rails  (Read 15278 times)

webwhy

• Jackass IV
Ruby on Rails
« on: June 21, 2005, 01:09:42 PM »
I've been messing with web programming languages for a couple of years now, and have settled on php as my utility/quick and dirty tool; however, anyone in the industry can't ignore the buzz about "rails".  I installed it on my gentoo box (linux isn't a requirement.  it will run on windows or OSX), and I have to say that so far I'm impressed.  It's still very young.  Version 0.11.1 is in gentoo's portage tree.  0.12.1 is the current version so it's actively devleoped.  Since the adoption of php5 has been anything buy enthusiastic,  I could see rails really taking a chunk out of php's market share, which i think is a good thing.  Ruby is a really slick language.  It' reminds me a lot of python, which is one of my passions, but it improves on python in a few areas.

The simpilicty of rails and the power of ruby make for an exciting product, and once it matures maybe some of us will free ourselves from the messy php landscape.

http://www.rubyonrails.org/

ober

• Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Ruby on Rails
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2005, 04:16:09 PM »
Do you have an example of some code?  What does it look like?  I haven't heard anything about it actually, and I'm not about to jump ship from PHP when it does what I need.

jverkoey

• Jackass III
    • http://TheJeffFiles.com/
Ruby on Rails
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2005, 05:05:38 PM »
Yes I wouldn't mind seeing some code too...sounds interesting.
-Jeff Verkoeyen

webwhy

• Jackass IV
Ruby on Rails
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2005, 08:21:58 PM »
I would like to show you something more complicated, but i'm just starting to learn it myself.  As a tester application, i'm rebuillding a simple time clock application I built for my office in php4.  I can show you a little code from that.