Author Topic: Looking to purchase an acoustic guitar  (Read 3583 times)

Canuck

• Eh?!!
  • Founders
  • Andy Moog Fan
    • My Website
Looking to purchase an acoustic guitar
« on: October 01, 2005, 03:12:34 PM »
Hi,

I have just started to learn how to play the guitar (for about a month), I have been taking private lessons, and am enjoying it quite a bit.  I currently play on a classic guitar, but was looking to get an acoustic in the near future.

I dont really know what to look for in a guitar, but would like to purchase an intermediate level guitar (in terms of price).  A store close by sells Cort guitars, which are in the mid $200s to mid $500 range.  

What are some good guitar brands, and are there any respectable sites on which I can read reviews on guitars?

Thanks

Stephen

• Jackass IV
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2005, 03:26:19 PM »
I'm not an expert on guitar brands, but I am currently playing a Rogue Cutaway Acoustic-Electric, and I'm quite pleased with it. http://musiciansfriend.com has some good reviews on it, and it's extremely inexpensive. It may be regarded as a beginner guitar, but I wouldn't consider myself a beginner by any means, so hey, may as well check it out.

ahluka

• Jackass IV
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2005, 03:51:16 PM »
I've got a good Fender, steel strings, can't play it to save my life. I keep meaning to find out about lessons at my college (apparently there's a guy who offers private lessons) but haven't had the time.

jkim

• Jackass In Charge
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2005, 07:36:35 PM »
I have a cort.  They're decent stuff.

hans

• Guitar Addict
  • Jackass In Charge
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2005, 02:01:53 AM »
Well, technically you already have an "acoustic" guitar, but I've been around enough to know you're looking for a steel string acoustic. :D