Author Topic: Powerline networking  (Read 3567 times)

ober

  • Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • Posts: 14463
  • Karma: +72/-789
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Powerline networking
« on: October 14, 2013, 08:33:00 PM »
So I looked into this a while back and I'm going to give it a whirl. 

http://www.actiontec.com/265.html

Since I gave my wife my old desktop, I just got a wireless adapter to use with it.  It works but it's slow as fuck for whatever reason.  So I figured I'd give these a try and see how it goes.  If it delivers as promised, I will be happy and she will be too.  And if it works as well as I hope, I'm going to get a third adapter for the Tivo to stream Netflix and stuff.  By the way, I found them for like $42 on Amazon.

I will post reviews.

KnuckleBuckett

  • Jackass In Charge
  • Posts: 9721
  • Karma: +26/-259
  • [url=http://google.com]I search a lot[/url]
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2013, 06:40:10 AM »
Get it through Amazon so you can return it if it blows.

ober

  • Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • Posts: 14463
  • Karma: +72/-789
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2013, 12:12:38 PM »
I did.

ober

  • Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • Posts: 14463
  • Karma: +72/-789
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2013, 03:02:11 PM »
A-mazing!!  Took more time to unwrap than to plug in. So simple and so easy. Her computer is down a floor and on the other side of the house. I used speedtest.net after connecting them and her computer now gets the same speed as mine upstairs connected directly to the router.

I will say that the light color on the device shows you the connection speed and it indicates that the speed is the middle tier which is still 50-99 Mbps. Not sure where in that range but it is obviously more than fast enough to get 16+ Mbps from the internet connection.

I'm absolutely thrilled and will be getting one to connect the TiVo as well.

Fuck wireless. That is all.

KnuckleBuckett

  • Jackass In Charge
  • Posts: 9721
  • Karma: +26/-259
  • [url=http://google.com]I search a lot[/url]
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2013, 04:04:18 PM »
What if say you wanted to add another port somewhere else in the house?
« Last Edit: October 19, 2013, 08:55:15 PM by KnuckleBuckett »

ober

  • Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • Posts: 14463
  • Karma: +72/-789
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2013, 06:51:12 PM »
From what I understand you just get another adapter.

ober

  • Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • Posts: 14463
  • Karma: +72/-789
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2013, 03:23:27 PM »
So I would hold off for a bit if you haven't bought these.  My wife's computer is the one that is on the device and she says the internet connection drops sometimes.  Or the indicator on the computer will say that the connection is limited.  We haven't had to unplug and plug in again.  It appears to reconnect itself.  I will investigate further and let you know. 

KnuckleBuckett

  • Jackass In Charge
  • Posts: 9721
  • Karma: +26/-259
  • [url=http://google.com]I search a lot[/url]
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2013, 11:08:59 PM »
 :(

kermi3

  • ?
  • Ass Wipe
  • Posts: 6046
  • Karma: +56/-22
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2013, 10:28:31 AM »
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
govtcheez03:  i kind of look for it - i seek out stupidity and annoy it until it either gets better, gets banned, or goes away on its own

Betazep

  • Sunk
  • Founders
  • Posts: 1628
  • Karma: +14/-5
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2013, 04:57:04 PM »
ipconfig /mail$200tobeta
"The most likely way for the world to be destroyed, most experts agree, is by accident. That's where we come in; we're computer professionals. We cause accidents." -Nathaniel Borenstein

ober

  • Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • Posts: 14463
  • Karma: +72/-789
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2013, 12:46:21 PM »
So I think I may have figured it out.  IPV6 was enabled on the ethernet connection in the computer and that was showing as 'no internet'.  I unchecked that in the settings but I haven't asked my wife if she has seen it since.  She also said it has happened regularly since she got this computer (pre-powerline connectors).  I will update as I test some more.

Betazep

  • Sunk
  • Founders
  • Posts: 1628
  • Karma: +14/-5
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2013, 03:52:03 PM »
Would be good if it wasn't the powerline.  I actually think I might want to use that.  We have two locations that I have CAT5 wired to, but I want to move the computer to another wall in our family room... and it is far away from the drop.
"The most likely way for the world to be destroyed, most experts agree, is by accident. That's where we come in; we're computer professionals. We cause accidents." -Nathaniel Borenstein

ober

  • Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • Posts: 14463
  • Karma: +72/-789
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #12 on: October 29, 2013, 04:18:19 PM »
Yeah, I had actually bought some CAT5 but never got around to running it partially for that reason.  This was SO much easier.

KnuckleBuckett

  • Jackass In Charge
  • Posts: 9721
  • Karma: +26/-259
  • [url=http://google.com]I search a lot[/url]
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #13 on: October 29, 2013, 08:11:26 PM »
If it works.

ober

  • Ashton Shagger
  • Ass Wipe
  • Posts: 14463
  • Karma: +72/-789
  • mini-ober is taking over
    • Windy Hill Web Solutions
Re: Powerline networking
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2014, 02:24:09 PM »
So a review a few months later.  Seems to be working pretty damn good.  We had issues with the internet dropping but I had TWC come out and they swapped the modem which hopefully was the issue.  The connection on the units never dropped when the internet wasn't working so I don't think it was those.

So yeah, I'd recommend these.